2017/2018 Board of Directors

Home > Featured > 2017/2018 Board of Directors


Last year’s board of directors all offered to stay on another year, and they have been elected.  The new term coincides with the beginning of our fiscal year, July 1st.   We welcome back Sara Russell as president.  Also remaining on the board is Dave Schorr as Treasurer, and Chip Goldstein as Technology chair. Diann Chethik is staying on the board as a member At Large, and Linda Goldstein is remaining Corresponding Secretary.

Coastside Jewish Community is governed by a Board of Directors elected annually by the membership.  The Board is empowered by the state of California to govern the organization as a nonprofit, faith-based corporation. In accordance with state law, there must always be a president, a secretary and a treasurer.  Other Board positions include vice-president, communications chair, education chair, events chair, fundraising chair, life cycles chair, membership chair, and ritual chair, and there may also be members-at-large.

Length of term for Board service is one year, although two years are preferred for continuity, and Board members often stay on for two or more.  Optimally the Board at any given time will have members who are renewing their Board service and some who are new, providing a balance of experienced and fresh perspectives.

The Board meets once each month throughout the year, generally for 2-3 hours each time.  Once or twice a year the Board holds an extended session for long-range planning and Board development.

The CJC Board is composed of dedicated, hard-working members who are collaborative and enjoy contributing their time and energy to the success and sustainability of the congregation.  A good measure of fun and laughter also characterize Board discussions.  As a congregation without its own facility and with limited financial resources, CJC’s success has been directly due to the wise guidance and extraordinary achievements of its Board members over the years since CJC’s founding.

Meet our current (2017/2018) Board of Directors